Team

Ma’ayan Lab Members, Summer 2018 (including Kathleen Jagodnik not photographed here)

Head of Laboratory


Avi Ma’ayan PhD
Professor, Department of Pharmacological Sciences
Director, Mount Sinai Center for Bioinformatics
Principal Investigator, BD2K-LINCS Data Coordination and Integration Center
Principal Investigator, Mount Sinai’s Knowledge Management Center for Illuminating the Druggable Genome
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
E-mail: avi.maayan@mssm.edu


Program Manager

jenkins_v1
Sherry Jenkins, MS
Program Manager II
MS in Computer Science
Fairleigh Dickinson University
E-mail: sherry.jenkins@mssm.edu


Research Faculty


Zichen Wang, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
PhD in Biomedical Sciences
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
E-mail: zichen.wang@mssm.edu



Alexander Lachmann, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
PhD in Biomedical Informatics
Columbia University
E-mail: alexander.lachmann@mssm.edu


Postdoctoral Fellow

KMJ
Kathleen Jagodnik, PhD
PhD in Biomedical Engineering
Case Western Reserve University
E-mail: kathleen.jagodnik@mssm.edu


Graduate Student


Alexandra Keenan, MS 
MD/PhD Candidate, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
MS in Computer Science, University of Texas-Pan American
BSE in Biomedical Engineering, University of Iowa
BS in Biochemistry, University of Iowa
E-mail: alexandra.keenan@icahn.mssm.edu


Bioinformaticians and Software Engineers


Daniel Clarke, MS
Bioinformatician II
BS, MS in Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering
Fairleigh Dickinson University
E-mail: daniel.clarke@mssm.edu



John Erol Evangelista, MS
Bioinformatician I
BS, MS in Computer Science
University of the Philippines Diliman
E-mail: johnerol.evangelista@mssm.edu


maxim.fw
Maxim Kuleshov, MS
Bioinformatician I
BS, MS in Informatics and Control Systems
Bauman Moscow State Technical University
E-mail: maxim.kuleshov@mssm.edu


torre
Denis Torre, BS
Bioinformatician I
BS in Natural Sciences and Biotechnology
University of Trieste, Italy
E-mail: denis.torre@mssm.edu



Megan Wojciechowicz, MS
Bioinformatician I
MS in Bioinformatics, Northeastern University
BS in Cell and Molecular Biology, Binghamton University, State University of New York
BS in Nursing, Binghamton University, State University of New York
E-mail: megan.wojciechowicz@mssm.edu


Master’s Student


Eryk Kropiwnicki, BS
Master’s Candidate, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
BS in Biological Sciences, Fordham University
E-mail: eryk.kropiwnicki@icahn.mssm.edu


2018 Undergraduate Research Trainees


Katherine Chew
Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Predicting Gene Signatures for Understudied Small Molecules



Zachary Flamholz
Molecular Biology, Princeton University
modEnrichr: Gene List Enrichment Analysis Tools for Fish, Fly, Worm, and Yeast



Hannah Freid
Molecular Biology, Princeton University
Integrative Analysis to Suggest Combination Therapies for Ovarian Cancer



Kevin Moses
Chemical Engineering, Yale University
JOIN: The Journal of Interactive Notebooks



Vivek Sriram
Statistics and Computer Science, Duke University
Predicting Diabetes Risk from Labs and Vitals with Machine Learning



Vivian Utti
Computer Science, Cornell University
ChEA3: Transcription Factor Enrichment Analysis



Derek Wang
East Brunswick High School
GTEx2BioJupies: Jupyter Notebook Analysis Reports from Interactive Selection of GTEx Portal Samples



Lily Wang
Biological Sciences, Cornell University
2017 Project: FAIRshake: Digital Objects Evaluation System
2018 Project: FAIRshake: Toolkit to Assess the FAIRness of Biomedical Digital Objects



Sherry Xie
Computer Science, Cornell University
Standard API to Enable Semantic Integration of the Tools Developed by the Ma’ayan Lab

Alumni