Team

Ma’ayan Laboratory in Central Park, Summer 2017

Head of Laboratory


Avi Ma’ayan PhD
Professor, Department of Pharmacological Sciences
Director, Mount Sinai Center for Bioinformatics
Principal Investigator, BD2K-LINCS Data Coordination and Integration Center
Principal Investigator, Mount Sinai’s Knowledge Management Center for Illuminating the Druggable Genome
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
E-mail: avi.maayan@mssm.edu


Program Manager

jenkins_v1
Sherry Jenkins, MS
Program Manager II
MS in Computer Science
Fairleigh Dickinson University
E-mail: sherry.jenkins@mssm.edu


Research Faculty


Zichen Wang, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
PhD in Biomedical Sciences
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
E-mail: zichen.wang@mssm.edu



Alexander Lachmann, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
PhD in Biomedical Informatics
Columbia University
E-mail: alexander.lachmann@mssm.edu


Postdoctoral Fellow

KMJ
Kathleen Jagodnik, PhD
PhD in Biomedical Engineering
Case Western Reserve University
E-mail: kathleen.jagodnik@mssm.edu


Graduate Student


Alexandra Keenan, MS 
MD/PhD Candidate, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
MS in Computer Science, University of Texas-Pan American
BSE in Biomedical Engineering, University of Iowa
BS in Biochemistry, University of Iowa
E-mail: alexandra.keenan@icahn.mssm.edu


Bioinformaticians and Software Engineers


Daniel Clarke, MS
Bioinformatician II
BS, MS in Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering
Fairleigh Dickinson University
E-mail: daniel.clarke@mssm.edu


maxim.fw
Maxim Kuleshov, MS
Bioinformatician I
BS, MS in Informatics and Control Systems
Bauman Moscow State Technical University
E-mail: maxim.kuleshov@mssm.edu



Brian Schilder, MPhil
Bioinformatician II
MPhil in Human Paleobiology, The George Washington University
BS in Cognitive Neuroscience, Brown University
E-mail: brian.schilder@mssm.edu


moshe
Moshe Silverstein, MA
Bioinformatician I
BS, MA in Physics (Mathematics minor)
Brooklyn College and Hunter College
E-mail: moshe.silverstein@mssm.edu


torre
Denis Torre, BS
Bioinformatician I
BS in Natural Sciences and Biotechnology
University of Trieste, Italy
E-mail: denis.torre@mssm.edu



Megan Wojciechowicz, MS
Bioinformatics Trainee
MS in Bioinformatics, Northeastern University
BS in Cell and Molecular Biology, Binghamton University, State University of New York
BS in Nursing, Binghamton University, State University of New York
E-mail: megan.wojciechowicz@mssm.edu


2017 Undergraduate Research Trainees


Patrycja Krawczuk
Majors: Mathematics and Computer Science
Hunter College
Project: Automated Indexing of Bioinformatics Tools



Marina Latif
Major: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Pre-Med
Princeton University
Project: Mining the Human Kinome



Joyce (Hyojin) Lee
Major: Mathematics
Princeton University
Project: Predicting Gene Function and PPIs with Co-Expression Data



Ariel Leong
Major: Biomedical Computation
Stanford University
Project: ChEA3 – Improving Transcription Factor Enrichment Analysis by Data Integration



Damon Pham
Major: Statistics
Indiana University
Project: Developing Novel Gene Set Enrichment Analysis Algorithms
Email: damon.pham@mssm.edu



Christopher Tseng
Majors: Biology and Computer Science
Emory University
Project: Analysis and Visualization of MCF10A Data for the LINCS Common Project



Lily Wang
Major: Biological Sciences
Cornell University
Project: FAIRShake: Digital Objects Evaluation System
Email: lily.wang@mssm.edu



Charlotte Zuber
Majors: Physics and Computer Science
Rutgers University
Project: Visualization of the Space of 200,000 Annotated Gene Sets

Alumni