5th Annual Musculoskeletal Repair and Regeneration Symposium – October 13, 2016

Einstein Symposium 2016_resized
Organizers and speakers of the 5th Annual Musculoskeletal Repair and Regeneration Symposium

The Mount Sinai ORL attended the 5th Annual Musculoskeletal Repair and Regeneration Symposium at Albert Einstein College of Medicine on October 13, 2016. The symposium mission is “to expand the knowledge base within the field, and to foster creativity, collaboration and networking between researchers throughout the region.”

During the symposium, Dr. Alice Huang gave a presentation entitled “Regulation of tendon regeneration” and Dr. James Iatridis presented his talk entitled “Injury, inflammation, and altered mechanotransduction in the intervertebral disc” while also serving as the Steering Chair for the “Novel views into musculoskeletal degenerative diseases” session. In addition, Rose Long presented her poster, “CD146+ phenotype of human annulus fibrosus cells induced by TGFβ1 has affinity to collagen scaffold aimed for annulus fibrosus repair” and together Matthew Gluck and Christina Beck presented their posters “In Situ Imaging of Rat Median Nerve Damage Using SHG Microscopy: Advancing Towards an In Vivo Application” and “Biomechanical Analysis of the Reduction and Association of the Scaphoid and Lunate (RASL) Technique: Screw Trajectory Matters”.

More information about the symposium can be found here:https://www.einstein.yu.edu/departments/orthopaedic-surgery/symposium/

Orthopaedic Research Society Spine Section 2016 Annual Meeting

Spine-Section-Awards-1024x684ORS Spine Section 2016 Poster and Podium award winners with ORS Spine Section leadership.

The ORS Spine Section held its first section meeting on Friday, March 4 as part of the ORS 2016 Annual Meeting programming at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort in Orlando, Florida.

The theme for the 2016 meeting was Spine Research for Functional Translation with scientific symposia on animal models and imaging. Invited speakers included spine researchers and clinicians representing academics, government, and industry.

The ORS Spine Section meeting aimed to disseminate cutting edge information on focus topics of interest, to develop & strengthen collaborative research networks, to support young investigators, and to engage clinicians & industry experts.  Dr. James Iatridis (shown sixth from left) served as the Chair of the newly created ORS Spine section for 2015 and 2016.  Svenja Illien-Junger, PhD (shown third from left) received a Podium Award at for her presentation at this year’s meeting.  In all, Dr. Iatridis’ Spine Bioengineer Lab had nine podium presentations at the ORS.

In addition, Mount Sinai alums Dr. Devina Purmessur and Dr. Nelly Andarawis-Puri organized two popular New Investigator mentoring sessions: I) Successfully competing for a faculty position and II) How to lead and motivate a successful team.  As one of the leaders of Orthopaedic Research, Dr. James Iatridis was invited to give a lecture on “Choosing the right people” for the second session.

The tendon research program was well represented at the ORS this year with three podium presentations given by Dr. Alice Huang, Kristen Howell, and David Shiovitz.  Dr. Huang also served as a moderator for the New Investigator mentoring sessions I and II, as well as Tendon and Ligament: Cell Biology and Development.

ORS PSRS 3rd International Spine Research Symposium


Mount Sinai Spine was an important sponsor of the ORS PSRS Spine Research Symposium. Many members of the Spine Lab participated in this meeting. Dr. Iatridis was an invited faculty who gave a talk entitled ‘Annulus Fibrosus Repair Strategies in the Intervertebral Disc’. Alumnus, Dr. Devina Purmessur, was an invited speaker on the Special Rising Star Session organized by the ORS Spine Section, and gave a talk on ‘The Role of the IVD Microenvironment on Neurovascular Ingrowth’. Dr. Alon Lai and Visiting Professor, Dr. Hironobu Watanabe (Keiyu Spine Center, Keiyu Orthopedic Hospital, Tatebayashi, Gunma), received a 1st Place Poster Award in the ‘Preclinical, Animal Models, and Clinical’ session (http://www.ors.org/ors-psrs-award-recipients/).