About Nina Bhardwaj MD PhD

Ward Coleman Chair in Cancer Research

Director of Immunotherapy

Director Vaccine and Cell Therapy Laboratory (VCTL)

Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology & Oncology

Professor of Urology

Tisch Cancer Institute

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai


Dr. Bhardwaj is an immunologist who has made seminal contributions to human dendritic cell biology, specifically with respect to their isolation, subset discovery, immunobiology, antigen presenting function, and use as vaccine adjuvants in humans. She is the Director of Immunotherapy at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai (ISMMS) and holds the Ward Coleman Chair in Cancer Research. Dr. Bhardwaj brings expertise in human immunology and a variety of immune therapies, having developed Toll Like Receptor (TLR) agonist- and dendritic cell-based vaccines for the treatment of both cancer and infection in several Investigator-Initiated studies, and more recently supplication of neoantigen vaccines into the clinic.  Dr. Bhardwaj is an elected member of the American Society of Clinical Investigation and the American Association of Physicians, a recipient of the Doris Duke Distinguished Scientist Award and was named one of the Scientific American Magazine’sTop 50 Researchers, receiving the Award for Medical Research in 2004. She received the Fred W. Alt Award for new discoveries in Immunology in 2015 from The Cancer Research Institute. Dr. Bhardwaj is a senior editor of the AACR Cancer Immunology Research journal, senior editor for Frontiers in Immunology and consulting editor for the Journal of Clinical Investigation. She has also served on NIH Study Sections and multiple advisory councils. Dr. Bhardwaj was formerly chair of the Cancer Immunology Steering Committee of the AACR. Dr. Bhardwaj has also successfully acquired multiple federal and foundation grants and has authored over 200 publications. Dr. Bhardwaj will serve as temporary chair of the AACR Nominating Committee.


1981                      Immunology Award, NYU School of Medicine

1984 – 1987          Irvington House Fellowship

1991 – 1995          Irma T. Hirschl Career Scientist Award

1995 – 1996          New York Community Trust Award

1999                      American Society of Clinical Investigation, Elected member

1999 – 2003         NIH Study Section Member: AIDS and Related Research 2

1999 – 2004         Burroughs Welcome Clinical Scientist Award

2001 – 2006         Elizabeth Glaser Scientist Award

2001                     Alpha Omega Alpha Almuna Award

2002                     Ann Belsky Moraines Visiting Professorship & Lectureship Award, NYU

2002 – 2007        Doris Duke Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award

2004                     Merit Award, NIH

2004                     Scientific American Top 50 Researchers Award (Medical Research)

2005 – 2006        Empire Who’s Who Honored Member

2008 – 2013        NIAID: Vaccine Research Center Board of Scientific Counselors

2009                     American Association of Physicians, Elected member

2009 – 2011         American Recovery & Reinvestment Act

2010                     Henry Silverman/Melanoma Research Alliance Team Science Award

2012                     New York University, Solomon A. Berson Award in Basic Science

2013 – Present    Ward Coleman Chair in Cancer Research

2015                    Frederick W. Alt Award for New Discoveries in Immunology, CRI

2019                    Solomon Berson-Rosalyn Yalow Society Lectureship Awardee



Department of Medicine

Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology

Tisch Cancer Institute

Vaccine and Cell Therapy Laboratory