Team

Principle Investigator

Dr. Lior Zangi, PhD

Associate Professor, Cardiovascular Research Institute, Genetics

Email: Lior.Zangi@mssm.edu

Bio: Lior Zangi, PhD, is an assistant professor at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York. He completed his education and training at the Weizmann Institute of Science and at Harvard University. He has established a new method, mRNA based, for gene delivery to promote cardiovascular regeneration. Currently, Dr. Zangi’s laboratory investigates cellular and organ level regenerative mechanisms that can contribute to new therapeutic approaches to repair and regenerate the heart following myocardial infarction.

Instructor 

Dr. Keerat Kaur, PhD

Instructor, Cardiovascular Research Institute

Email: Keerat.Kaur@mssm.edu

Bio: Keerat received her Ph.D. from New York Medical College. Her research focuses involves the use of novel and exciting tool Modified mRNA. ModRNA is a safe, non-immunogenic, efficient, transient, local, and controlled nucleic acid delivery system that can overcome the obstacles to conventional approaches for cardiac gene delivery. Keerat is using modRNA as a tool to deliver genes that can induce cardiac regeneration post-injury and prevent cardiac remodeling. She is determined to develop a safe and minimally invasive method to deliver modRNA to different adult organs in an attempt to repair them post-injury or illness.

 

Postdoctoral Fellow

Dr. Magdalena Zak, PhD

Email: Magdalena.zak@mssm.edu

 

Lab Manager

Ann Anu Kurian

Email: ann.kurian@mssm.edu

 

Research Assistant

Jimeen Yoo

Email: jimeen.yoo2@mssm.edu

 

Animal Surgeon

Seonghun Yoon

Email: seonghun.yoon@mssm.edu