VillanuevaAugusto webpage 2


Augusto Villanueva, MD, PhD





Principal Investigator

Please visit my full profile at






Teresa G Lezana, PhD, MSc






Post Doctoral Fellow

Teresa G Lezana is graduated in Biology (2010) and MSc in Biomedicine (2012) from University of Barcelona. She joined Liver diseases division at Vall d’Hebron University Hospital as PhD student, obtaining the PhD in 2017 with a thesis focus on the development of new animal models for the study physiopathological mechanisms in chronic liver disease. Now, her research interests are focus on understanding intra-tumor heterogeneity and the mechanisms behind immune scape in liver cancer.


Amanda Webpage 2



Amanda Craig




Graduate Student

Amanda Craig graduated from Rutgers University in 2011 with a bachelor’s degree in biotechnology.  She then worked as a research technician at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in the department of surgery where she studied soft tissue sarcoma. Her current research interests include understanding the role of genetic intra-tumor heterogeneity in HCC progression and drug resistance.




Johann Von Felden, MD




Visiting Postdoctoral Fellow

Dr. Johann von Felden graduated in Medicine and received his MD from the Medical School Hannover, Germany, in 2012 and 2013, respectively. He started his residency training for Gastroenterology and Hepatology at the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, Germany, where he is part of the Liver Cancer Unit since 2013. As a researcher, he has investigated predictive biomarker after resection of HCC and participated as deputy in several clinical trials in the field. He joined the Division of Liver Diseases at Mount Sinai in June 2017 as post-doctoral fellow to develop a translational research project focusing on liquid biopsy as molecular monitoring in decision-making for liver cancer patients.




(2018) Samantha Sarcognato, MD – Visiting Researcher

(2015 – 2018) Carlos Villacorta, MSc – Bioinformatician

(2016 – 2017) Sebastiao Martins, MD – Post Doctoral Fellow

(2015 – 2017) Delia D’Avola, PhD – Visiting Researcher

(2014 – 2016) Ismail Labgaa, MD – Visiting Researcher

(2015) Massih Ningahari, MD – Visiting Researcher

(2015) Dominick Harrisson – Associate Researcher