Aguirre-Ghiso Lab Team

Aguirre-Ghiso Lab west view

Caitlin Pacheco – Sachs Fellow (ENT Program)
Medical Student
Caitlin studies the inter-organ variation in dormancy inducing cues to understand the relapse rate of HNSCC in contralateral and ipsilateral lymph nodes.



Jennifer Lopez
Lab Administrative Assistant
Jen runs all our lab operations and logistics to make sure the science does not stop and that I do not miss meetings and trips.



Julie Cheung
Research Coordinator
Julie, as the Laboratory Coordinator, she contributes to multiple projects the lab. She also directs the functioning and development of our chicken embryo facility and mouse facility, optimizing methods for xenograft and tumor cell metastasis studies in the embryos and mice.


Tasrina Rahman
Research Coordinator
Tasrina is conducting studies to identify and optimize small molecule agonists of nuclear receptors involved in dormancy induction. She is also developing work to optimize bioassays to identify drugs that modulate dormancy pathways.


Rita Nobre – Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia Fellow – Portugal
PhD Graduate Student
Rita is conducting research to identify the cell types in the bone marrow that regulate both hematopoietic stem cell dormancy and DTC dormancy. She is also working to identify the gene signatures that distinguish early DTCs from those that originate from large invasive tumors.


Veronica Calvo-Vidal – LIFA Fellow
Senior Postdoctoral Fellow
Vero studies the role of the endoplasmic reticulum stress pathways  in mediating tumorigenesis and DTC survival in models of breast cancer and HNSCC. She also studies how to target the UPR survival mechanisms in multiple myeloma and biologics that might be used to induce dormancy during MRD.


Dan (Rosaline) Sun 
Postdoctoral Fellow
Rosaline just joined from Laura Buttitta’s Lab, at the University of Michigan  where she studied mechanisms of quiescence during Drosophila development and tissue differentiation. She now brings this expertise to develop work to unravel the mechanisms of DTC dormancy.


Julio A. Aguirre-Ghiso  
Principal Investigator
Does the usual grant and paper writing, institutional and NIH service and mentoring. He feels fortunate when he is asked by his lab members to sit at any microscope to look at samples or help with experiments.

Past Lab Members:

Aparna Ranganathan, currently Assistant Professor at University of Arizona, Phoenix, AZ

Alfred Adomako, currently Medical Writer at Adelphi Communications, New York, NY

Alejandro Adam, currently Assistant Professor at Albany Medical College, Albany, NY.

Kurt Lowry, Project Manager at Dana-Farber/ Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center

Denis Schewe, currently Faculty Member at Department of General Pediatrics, University Medical Center Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel, Germany

Huei-Chi Wencurrently Postdoc at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Sharon Sequeira, currently, Supervisor at American Type Culture Collection (ATCC)

Bibiana Iglesias, currently Research Associate in Ophthalmology, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Yeriel Estrada, currently Clinical Coordinator at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Alvaro Avivar-Valderas, currently Research Scientist at AstraZeneca, UK

Carla Capobianco, currently PhD student at Universidad de Quilmes, Argentina.

Maria Jose Carlini, currently Postdoc at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai @Sosa Lab.

Ethan Tardio, currently undergraduate student at Johns Hopkins University.

Paloma Bragado, currently Lab Head at IDIBAPS, Barcelona, Spain.

Kathryn Harper, currently Assistant Medical Director, Health Science Communications, New York.

Georg Fluegen, currently, Assistenzarzt, Universitätsklinikum Düsseldorf, Düsseldorf · Klinik für Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Kinderchirurgie. Düsseldorf, Germany.

Nina Linde, currently Lab Head at Merck, Germany.

M. Soledad Sosa,  currently Assistant Professor – Tenure Track at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Stefan Moritsch, currently PhD student at University of Vienna, Austria.

Margaret Hung, currently PhD student at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Lin Zang

Anna Banach

Esther Epkins

Miguel Vizarreta Sandoval

Christopher Pool,

Rosaline Petriconne

Erin Butler

Hector Martinez

Shishir Oja

Ajish George

Tara Garcia Collins